Category: Uncategorized

Simple Windows Powershell to Ease Preparing for Upgrade

The more I dig into PreUpgradeCheck, the more I’m finding everyday value.  As well, the more I use Test-SpContentDatabase the windows powershell commandlet designed for testing databases prior to attaching them, the more I see differences between these tools.  I see a big mistake… Continue Reading “Simple Windows Powershell to Ease Preparing for Upgrade”

Warning to SharePoint Administrators: Don’t Ignore the Red Health Bar

  It’s already becoming commonplace.  The red bar at the top of the central administration is quickly becoming a part of what you expect to see when you login to CA.  I’m telling you now… that feature was designed to give you a heads… Continue Reading “Warning to SharePoint Administrators: Don’t Ignore the Red Health Bar”

Record Breaking Patch Tuesday Includes “Important” SharePoint Patch

This patch Tuesday marks a couple of significant things to note.  One it’s a record for patch Tuesday with 16 bulletins across 49 vulnerabilities.  The previous record was 14 bulletins.  A few are critical which include Windows Server and IE, and even SharePoint 2007… Continue Reading “Record Breaking Patch Tuesday Includes “Important” SharePoint Patch”

Upgrading the SSP Database

Some people are saying.  I’m having a problem upgrading the SSP with Database Attach upgrade.  Looks like I’m getting forced to use In-Place upgrade. While There are some simple ways to upgrade search and single sign on with powershell scripts, the profile and audiences… Continue Reading “Upgrading the SSP Database”

How Microsoft Is Doing Records Management

SHAREPOINT 2010 WEBINAR How Microsoft Is Using SharePoint & Colligo for ECM & Records Management Tuesday, September 21, 2010 8:00 AM Pacific / 11:00 AM Eastern 4:00 PM London / 5:00 PM Paris Join Microsoft guest speaker Nishan DeSilva on September 21st for the… Continue Reading “How Microsoft Is Doing Records Management”